Construction Trades and Manufacturing • Jacksonville, FL • Campus • $104.88/Credit (In-State, incl. fees)
Florida State College at Jacksonville offers 2 construction management pathways:
- A.S. in Building Construction Technology (Construction Management)
- Building Construction Specialist Technical Certificate (for completed apprentices and career-certificate graduates)
Program Pathways Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| A.S. | $6.3K in-state / $24.1K out-of-state | 2.5 years (5 semesters) | 60 |
| T.C. | $1.9K in-state / $7.2K out-of-state | 1.5 years (3 semesters) | 18 |
Tuition estimates use FSCJ’s published lower-division per-credit rate, which combines tuition and mandatory student fees.
- Why choose it: The A.S. requires College Trigonometry plus soils and foundations, surveying, and structures courses, and every student completes a 3-credit internship. FSCJ refers students to internships and interviews with Jacksonville contractors.
- Trade-off: FSCJ lists both programs as not online, and most construction courses run in only one term per year. The A.S. has no named construction transfer agreement, and the certificate is not eligible for financial aid.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Credentials Offered | A.S. in Building Construction Technology; Building Construction Specialist T.C. |
| Format | Campus (FSCJ lists both as not online) |
| Campus Location | Advanced Technology Center, downtown Jacksonville (per FSCJ program event listing) |
| Credit Hours | 60 (A.S.); 18 (T.C.) |
| Internship | Required for A.S.: BCN 1943, 3 credits; none in T.C. |
| Programmatic Accreditation | None stated |
| Software Taught | Construction Computing course; specific software not clearly stated |
| Industry Certifications | None named |
| Transfer Pathway | No named construction articulation agreement |
| Math Requirement | College Algebra (or Precalculus Algebra) plus College Trigonometry |
| T.C. Entry Requirement | Prior apprenticeship or clock-hour career certificate |
| Tuition | $104.88/credit in-state; $401.27 out-of-state; $218.55 eligible Georgia residents |
A.S. in Building Construction Technology
The estimated tuition for the A.S. in Building Construction Technology at Florida State College at Jacksonville is approximately $6,292.80 (60 credits at $104.88/credit).
The program can generally be completed in about 2.5 years (5 semesters).
Official program: Building Construction Technology (Construction Management) (A.S.). Duration follows FSCJ’s 2026-27 sample roadmap, which places 12 credits in each of five fall and spring terms.
A.S. Curriculum
The 60 credits split into 18 general education credits, 39 required professional credits, and one 3-credit professional elective.
- Math: MAC 1105 College Algebra (or MAC 1140 Precalculus Algebra) plus MAC 1114 College Trigonometry
- Estimating, scheduling, and management: BCN 2614 Planning and Estimating; BCN 2721 Construction Scheduling; BCN 2793 Managing Building Construction; GEB 1011 Introduction to Business
- Codes and safety: BCN 2760 Construction Design and Codes; BCN 2732 Industrial Safety and Human Factors
- Site and structures: BCN 2226 Soils and Foundations; BCN 2280 Surveying: Construction Layout; BCN 2405 Introduction to Structures
- Materials and documents: BCN 1210C Construction Materials (lecture/lab); BCN 1251 Construction Drawing; BCN 2781 Construction Computing
- Field experience: BCN 1943 Internship (3 credits)
- Professional elective (choose 1): green building, sustainability, renewable energy, structural drafting, financial accounting, business law, macro- or microeconomics, statistics, or Calculus for Business
The core balances management and site technical work. Six required courses cover estimating, scheduling, management, codes, safety, and business. Five cover materials, drawings, soils, surveying, and structures. Only one required course is drafting-based, so the degree points toward field engineer, assistant superintendent, and estimator roles rather than CAD support. The trigonometry requirement supports the surveying and structures courses.
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- Ten of the 12 BCN courses run in only one term: six in fall, four in spring. Missing one can add a year.
- Professional courses require a C or better.
- Choosing the 4- or 5-credit versions of English, algebra, or science raises the degree to as many as 64 credits.
- FSCJ says the program prepares students for “practical certifications” but names none.
A.S. Internship and Field Experience
- Required: BCN 1943 Internship, 3 credits, offered fall, spring, and summer
- Hours and paid status: not clearly stated
- Placement support: FSCJ refers students for internships and job interviews
- Employer ties: FSCJ names Haskell, Gilbane, Barton Malow, Stellar Group, Superior Construction, Auld & White, Dickey Smith & Company, Miatt Construction, Accubuild Construction, ShayCore Enterprises, and Woods Engineering
- Northeast Florida Builders Association members sit on the program’s advisory council, provide internships, and fund annual scholarships
Every graduate leaves with a documented field placement, and FSCJ actively places students rather than leaving the search to them. Two of the named firms, Haskell and Stellar Group, also appear on UNF’s scholarship list, so a student who transfers later stays inside the same contractor network.
A.S. Admissions
Admission is open; the main planning constraint is the math sequence.
- FSCJ admits students with a high school diploma or equivalent
- No limited-access process or program application is listed
- College Algebra and Trigonometry sit in the first two terms of the roadmap, so placement into College Algebra keeps the plan on schedule
- Civic literacy course or state assessment required to graduate
Building Construction Specialist Technical Certificate
The estimated tuition for the Building Construction Specialist T.C. at Florida State College at Jacksonville is approximately $1,887.84 (18 credits at $104.88/credit).
The program can generally be completed in about 1.5 years (3 semesters).
Official program: Building Construction Specialist (T.C.). Duration follows FSCJ’s 2026-27 roadmap; FSCJ notes the courses can be taken in any order.
T.C. Curriculum
All six courses are required, and all six are also required in the A.S.
- Estimating and scheduling: BCN 2614 Planning and Estimating; BCN 2721 Construction Scheduling
- Management: BCN 2793 Managing Building Construction
- Codes and safety: BCN 2760 Construction Design and Codes; BCN 2732 Industrial Safety and Human Factors
- Materials: BCN 1210C Construction Materials (lecture/lab)
The certificate strips the A.S. down to its management side. It drops the soils, surveying, structures, drawing, and internship courses, which suits a journeyman who already knows the field and needs estimating, scheduling, and supervision skills to move into a foreman or assistant superintendent role.
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- FSCJ’s program page says the certificate articulates into the Industry Operations Management A.S., not the Building Construction Technology A.S. Its catalog pathway note says students can earn it while completing the A.S. Confirm with an advisor which degree it applies to.
- All 18 credits are A.S. requirements, so completers would have 42 credits left toward the construction A.S.
- FSCJ says the certificate includes “formal AI training” in project management and scheduling. No course title or description in the curriculum identifies that content.
T.C. Internship and Field Experience
- No internship or field course is required
- Field experience comes from the apprenticeship or career certificate completed before entry
The certificate assumes the student already works in the trades. It adds management coursework, not jobsite time.
T.C. Admissions
Entry is limited to students who have completed an apprenticeship or clock-hour career certificate.
- Prior completion of an apprentice or clock-hour career certificate program
- Not eligible for federal financial aid
- No math course required
- 2.0 GPA in program courses to graduate
Tuition
FSCJ charges $104.88 per credit for lower-division courses for Florida residents, $401.27 for non-residents, and $218.55 for eligible Georgia residents and for non-residents in online courses. Each rate combines tuition with mandatory student fees (financial aid, student activity, and capital improvement). See FSCJ’s tuition and fees page.
| Item | In-State | Out-of-State | Eligible Georgia |
|---|---|---|---|
| Per-credit rate (lower division) | $104.88 | $401.27 | $218.55 |
| A.S. (60 credits) | $6,292.80 | $24,076.20 | $13,113.00 |
| T.C. (18 credits) | $1,887.84 | $7,222.86 | $3,933.90 |
All courses in both programs are 1000- or 2000-level, so the lower-division rate applies throughout. FSCJ states these rates have not increased since Fall 2018.
Be aware that:
- The Georgia rate applies only to listed zip codes in Camden, Charlton, Brantley, Glynn, and Ware counties. See FSCJ’s Georgia tuition page.
- BCN 1210C is a lecture/lab course. FSCJ says lab classes may carry supply fees listed in the class schedule; the amount is not clearly stated.
- FSCJ estimates books at about $60 per credit on its main tuition page and about $80 per credit on its Georgia page, or roughly $3,600 to $4,800 for the A.S.
- Repeating a course a third time triggers a higher full-cost rate.
- Out-of-state active-duty military students using DoD tuition assistance pay no more than $220 per credit.
- T.C. students cannot use federal aid to cover these costs.
A Florida resident’s A.S. costs about $6,300 in tuition and fees, or roughly $10,000 to $11,000 with books at FSCJ’s own estimates. Students near Brunswick, Kingsland, or Waycross pay about double the Florida rate but well under the standard out-of-state charge.
Why Choose This Construction Management Program?
Best suited for Northeast Florida and southeast Georgia students who want an in-person, two-year route into field engineering, estimating, or site supervision with a required internship.
The transfer question. FSCJ publishes no construction articulation agreement, and this A.S. is not the A.A. that UNF treats as completing general education. Students set on UNF’s B.S. in Building Construction should compare both plans with advisors before the first term. If they stay in the A.S., the single elective slot is best spent on a UNF prerequisite such as Calculus for Business, Financial Accounting, economics, or statistics, and the science choice on PHY 2053C General Physics I.
The work-first route. Students who plan to start working after two and a half years get more from the A.S. as it stands: trigonometry-backed surveying and structures, an internship, and referrals to Jacksonville general contractors. That combination fits field engineer and assistant superintendent openings.
The tradesperson’s route. Completed apprentices can take the 18-credit certificate for about $1,900 in-state and pay out of pocket, since it carries no federal aid. The courses also count toward the A.S., but the conflicting articulation language means students should get the A.S. credit confirmed in writing.
Accreditation and Credentials
Florida State College at Jacksonville is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. That accreditation supports federal financial aid eligibility for the A.S. and transfer of credit between regionally accredited schools.
FSCJ does not state programmatic accreditation for either program. The A.S. does not appear on the American Council for Construction Education’s associate degree list (revision dated March 20, 2025). Most two-year construction programs are not ACCE-accredited, so this is normal at the associate level.
Neither program embeds a named industry certification. BCN 2732 covers industrial safety as course content, but no OSHA 10 or OSHA 30 card is listed. FSCJ does not state any Florida contractor-licensing or AIC Associate Constructor exam relevance for either credential.