Independent program profiles built from primary sources

Florida Institute of Technology Construction Management Programs

Department of Mechanical and Civil Engineering • Melbourne, FL • Campus • $1,607/Credit (All Students, incl. fees, derived)

Florida Institute of Technology offers 1 construction management pathway: a B.S. in Construction Management.

Program Pathways Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
B.S.$196K (all students)4 years (8 semesters)122

Tuition estimates use Florida Tech’s 2026-27 flat full-time College of Engineering and Science tuition plus mandatory fees.

  • Why choose it: The B.S. ends with a required two-semester capstone that students present to industry leaders at the Northrop Grumman Engineering and Science Student Design Showcase. Five building-systems courses (soils, structures, mechanical/HVAC, electrical, and equipment) are each taught on their own.
  • Trade-off: Every student pays the same flat private tuition, about $196,000 over four years with mandatory fees. That is roughly eight times in-state tuition at Florida’s public ACCE-accredited B.S. programs.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Credentials OfferedB.S. in Construction Management
FormatCampus (catalog delivery mode: Classroom)
Campus LocationMain campus, Melbourne
Credit Hours122
InternshipNot required; summer internships available
Programmatic AccreditationACCE
Software TaughtBIM and CAD (specific products not clearly stated)
Industry CertificationsNot clearly stated
Math RequirementPrecalculus and Calculus 1
Graduate PathwayFastTrack MBA (3.4 GPA): two graduate courses count toward both degrees
TuitionAbout $196,010 total; same rate for Florida and out-of-state students

B.S. in Construction Management

The estimated tuition for the B.S. in Construction Management at Florida Institute of Technology is approximately $196,010 (8 semesters at $23,780 flat tuition plus $5,770 in mandatory fees).

The program can generally be completed in about 4 years (8 semesters).

The Construction Management, B.S. is housed in the Department of Mechanical and Civil Engineering. Florida Tech states it prepares graduates for construction management careers rather than civil engineering design.

B.S. Curriculum

  • Math and science: Precalculus, Calculus 1, General Chemistry 1 with lab, Physical Concepts for Construction with lab, one science elective
  • Business and economics core (9 courses): economics, financial and managerial accounting, business law, business statistics, management principles, Managing Small Business, engineering economy, one business elective
  • Plans, BIM, and field measurement: Construction Plan Reading and BIM Applications, Computer Applications Lab, Construction Measurements with lab
  • Building systems and materials: Statics and Mechanics, Engineering Materials with lab, Construction Soils, Building Structures, Building Mechanical and HVAC Systems, Building Electrical and Electronic Systems
  • Construction management core: Construction Methods and Operations; Construction Controls (budget, schedule, quality); Estimating, Bidding and Value Engineering; Construction Safety; Construction Equipment; Leading Construction Operations
  • Capstone: Construction Project Proposal (fall) and Construction Project (spring)
  • Electives: one technical elective (GIS, renewable energy, industrial safety, environmental engineering, and others)

By course count, required non-general-education work splits into 10 technical and systems courses, 9 business courses, 8 construction management and capstone courses, and 4 plans/BIM/surveying courses. Construction management courses make up about a quarter of the major’s required courses; the rest is engineering, systems, and business. The calculus requirement and physics base suit students who may later move toward engineering management. Students wanting scheduling software depth should note that no dedicated scheduling or software course is listed; scheduling sits inside Construction Controls.

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • Six of the eight technical-elective options are aviation or environmental courses, so the elective adds breadth rather than construction depth.
  • Florida Tech’s ACCE page sets a goal to start a construction management master’s by 2030. No CM master’s or graduate certificate is offered now; graduates choose the MBA or M.S. in Engineering Management.
  • Florida Tech notes a sustainability minor is popular with CM students; it is not part of the 122 credits.

B.S. Internship and Field Experience

  • Internship: not required for the degree
  • Timing: students may complete internships every summer
  • Credits, hours, and paid status: Not clearly stated
  • Placement support: faculty guide students toward internships with local partner firms; Career Services helps arrange them
  • Past internship hosts named by Florida Tech: Bechtel, Turner Construction, Lane Construction, NASA, Kimley-Horn, BRPH, Creech Engineers
  • Required capstone presented to industry leaders and potential employers each spring
  • Field trips to Space Coast construction sites throughout the coursework

Without a required internship, field experience depends on the student. The capstone and showcase give every student some employer exposure, but students who skip summer internships may graduate with less site time than peers at programs that require one. Florida Tech states that historically nearly all CM graduates find degree-related jobs or enter graduate school within three months; its ACCE program objective sets a target of over 90% placement within nine months.

B.S. Admissions

Students enter through Florida Tech’s general first-year or transfer application; no separate CM program application is stated.

  • CM-specific admission requirements: Not clearly stated
  • Calculus 1 in the first spring assumes readiness for Precalculus at entry
  • Transfer articulation agreements for CM: Not clearly stated
  • Start term: Not clearly stated; the plan of study is built on a fall start

Tuition

Florida Tech charges a flat full-time tuition of $23,780 per semester ($47,560 per year) for College of Engineering and Science students taking 12 to 19 credits. Every semester in the CM plan falls inside that band. Mandatory fees add $690 per semester. There is no in-state discount.

Cost ItemPer Semester8 Semesters
Tuition (full-time, flat)$23,780$190,240
Facilities fee$290$2,320
Activity fee$240$1,920
Technology fee$160$1,280
Orientation fee (once)–$150
Graduation fee (once)–$100
Total$24,470$196,010

Divided across 122 credits, that is about $1,607 per credit (derived). See Florida Tech’s 2026-27 tuition and fees.

Be aware that:

  • All students are automatically enrolled in the Panther Ready book program at $27 per credit hour, about $3,294 over 122 credits; opt-out terms are not stated on the tuition page.
  • Student health insurance runs $1,999 for a year starting in fall 2026; waiver rules are not stated on the tuition page.
  • Credits above 19 in a semester, and any summer courses, cost $1,340 per credit.
  • Tuition is set annually; the total assumes 2026-27 rates hold for four years.
  • Parking ($250 per year) and housing are excluded.

The $196,010 figure is the sticker price before institutional aid, which Florida Tech offers but does not tie to this program. Students comparing schools should compare net price after aid offers, since Florida’s public ACCE programs start near $25,000 in-state tuition before any aid.


Why Choose This Construction Management Program?

Best suited for students who want an ACCE-accredited B.S. with an engineering-school feel, a building-systems sequence, and a capstone judged by employers, and who receive enough aid to close the price gap.

Engineering depth without an engineering degree. Calculus, physics, statics, soils, and three building-systems courses give graduates the vocabulary to work with structural and MEP engineers. The nine business courses, including Managing Small Business, fit students who plan to run their own contracting firm.

Rival comparison. FGCU, UNF, and FIU all offer ACCE-accredited B.S. programs for about $24,500 to $25,600 in in-state tuition. Even at out-of-state rates, those programs cost $84,000 to $109,000 less than Florida Tech’s sticker price. UNF also requires an internship, which Florida Tech does not. Florida Tech’s case rests on its capstone showcase, small private-campus setting, Space Coast employer network, and the FastTrack MBA. Out-of-state students, who lose the public in-state discount, will find the gap narrower than Florida residents.


Accreditation and Credentials

Florida Institute of Technology is a private, not-for-profit university accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). Institutional accreditation makes students eligible for federal financial aid and lets other accredited schools evaluate Florida Tech credits.

The B.S. in Construction Management is accredited by the American Council for Construction Education (ACCE). Florida Tech appears on ACCE’s current baccalaureate accredited-program list, and its ACCE accreditation page links to the program’s public disclosures. ACCE accreditation signals the curriculum meets national construction education standards.

No embedded industry certifications, such as OSHA 30, are stated. Florida Tech does not state how the degree counts toward Florida contractor-license experience requirements, so students targeting licensure should confirm with the Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board.


More Construction Management Programs in Florida