Independent program profiles built from primary sources

Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology Construction Management Programs

School of Engineering and Construction Technologies • Okmulgee, OK • Campus • $201.60/Credit (In-State, incl. fees)

OSUIT offers 2 construction management pathways:

  • Construction Technology A.A.S., Construction Management Option
  • Construction Management Certificate

Program Pathways Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
A.A.S.$19.6K in-state /
$35.9K out-of-state
2 years (6 trimesters)87
Certificate$4.1K in-state /
$7.5K out-of-state
About 8 months (2 trimesters)18

Tuition estimates use OSUIT’s current per-credit tuition and mandatory fees plus the per-credit course fees charged on CNS, BLD, and general education courses.

OSUIT builds two required, paid internships into its construction management A.A.S. Each is a 6-credit, 8-week placement, so 12 of the degree’s 87 credits are spent working on a job site or in a contractor’s office. Students take them in the summer terms of OSUIT’s year-round trimester calendar, which lets the program finish 87 credits in about two years.

The trade-off is size and cost. At 87 credits, the degree is 27 credits longer than a standard 60-credit associate degree and runs about $19,600 in tuition and fees for Oklahoma residents. The curriculum also leans technical: 9 of its 16 classroom construction courses cover materials, field engineering, soils, concrete, and building systems, and there are no business, accounting, or construction law courses.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Credentials OfferedConstruction Technology A.A.S. (Construction Management Option); 18-credit Construction Management Certificate
FormatCampus; OSUIT lists the program as on campus
Campus LocationOkmulgee; OSUIT also lists OSUIT-Tulsa
Credit Hours87 (A.A.S.), 18 (certificate)
InternshipRequired: two paid 8-week internships, 6 credits each
Programmatic AccreditationNone stated; not ACCE accredited
Software TaughtNot clearly stated; computer literacy course only
Industry CertificationsConstruction Safety OSHA 30 Hour course; card issuance not stated
Math RequirementPre-Calculus and Trigonometry (6 credits)
Transfer PathwayOSU map into the B.P.S. in Organizational Leadership (Tulsa or online)
Tuition$160.85/credit tuition + $40.75/credit mandatory fees; $32/credit CNS and BLD fee
Start TermsFall or spring

Construction Technology A.A.S., Construction Management Option

The estimated tuition for the Construction Technology A.A.S., Construction Management Option at OSUIT is approximately $19,602 (87 credits at $201.60/credit plus $2,063 in course fees).

The program can generally be completed in about 2 years (6 trimesters), per OSUIT’s plan of study.

A.A.S. Curriculum

The catalog splits the degree into a 30-credit construction core, a 32-credit construction management option, 6 credits of technical support, 18 credits of general education, and a 1-credit orientation. Of the 16 classroom construction courses, 7 are management-side (estimating, scheduling, documents, safety, principles of CM, capstone) and 9 are technical.

  • Math: MATH 1513 Pre-Calculus and MATH 1613 Trigonometry, both required
  • Estimating and scheduling: CNS 1303 Estimating I, BLD 2303 Estimating II, CNS 2403 Project Scheduling
  • Management: CNS 2693 Principles of Construction Management, CNS 2683 Construction Management Capstone Experience
  • Documents and safety: CNS 1263 Construction Blueprints and Specifications, CNS 2432 Construction Documents and Shop Drawing Review (2 credits), CNS 1213 Construction Safety OSHA 30 Hour
  • Field engineering and site: CNS 1123 Field Engineering I, CNS 1223 Field Engineering II, CNS 2123 Soils in Construction
  • Building and systems: CNS 1113 Construction Materials and Procedures, CNS 2543 Concrete Construction, BLD 2503 Wall and Roof Systems, BLD 2513 Interior Finishes and Specialties, CNS 2413 Mechanical Systems
  • Internships: CNS 2806 and CNS 2906 Construction Internship, 6 credits each
  • Support: CS 1013 Computer Literacy and Applications; SPCH 1113 or SPCH 2313; a 3-credit advisor-approved technical elective

The math sequence ends at trigonometry, one step past OSU-Oklahoma City’s applied geometry and trigonometry course and one step short of the Calculus I that Oklahoma State’s CET B.S. requires. Two field engineering courses and a soils course give graduates site layout skills that fit field engineer and assistant superintendent roles. Students headed for an estimating or project office should note the absence of accounting, contracts, and construction law.

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • ⚠️ The catalog and the plan of study list 87 credits, and the courses add to 87. OSUIT’s plan-of-study page labels the current fall and spring plans as 90 credits. This page uses 87.
  • Students must earn a C or better in all program requirements and keep a 2.5 overall GPA to graduate.
  • OSUIT requires a program tool list; contents and cost are available only from a program advisor.
  • The 3-credit technical elective is chosen with the program advisor; no list is published.

A.A.S. Internship and Field Experience

  • Required: Yes, two internships (CNS 2806 and CNS 2906)
  • Credits: 6 each, 12 total, about 14% of the degree
  • Length and timing: 8 weeks each, in the second half of the third trimester and the first half of the sixth, per the fall-start plan
  • Paid: Yes, per OSUIT’s catalog and program page
  • Eligibility: School dean’s approval and a 2.5 overall GPA
  • Hours, placement support, named employers: Not clearly stated

Two paid placements give every graduate supervised work experience and wages before finishing. That compares with OU’s single required 480-hour internship and OSU-OKC’s optional internship credit. OSUIT does not publish hour totals, so students cannot compare it directly with Oklahoma State’s 800 documented practicum hours. OSUIT reports that graduates typically start in the upper $40,000s, with some offers reaching $55,000 and signing bonuses or moving allowances common; it does not give a year or sample size.

A.A.S. Admissions

Admission runs through OSUIT’s general application, which is ACT/SAT optional; the internships carry the only program-level gate.

  • Apply through OSUIT undergraduate admissions; fall and spring starts are published.
  • Math placement determines entry to Pre-Calculus.
  • Internship enrollment requires dean’s approval and a 2.5 GPA.
  • Broken Arrow High School Construction Academy students can earn up to 9 credits of prior-learning credit under an agreement effective July 2026 through June 2029. Credit posts after 6 OSUIT credits.
  • OSUIT’s School of Engineering and Construction Technologies offers prior learning assessment for industry credentials, at $5 per credit attempted.

Construction Management Certificate

The estimated tuition for the Construction Management Certificate at OSUIT is approximately $4,130 (18 credits at $201.60/credit plus $501 in course fees).

The program can generally be completed in about 2 trimesters, derived from prerequisites (Estimating I follows Pre-Calculus, Materials, and Blueprints).

Certificate Curriculum

All six courses are first-year courses in the A.A.S., so the certificate stacks fully into the degree.

  • MATH 1513 Pre-Calculus
  • CNS 1113 Construction Materials and Procedures
  • CNS 1123 Field Engineering I
  • CNS 1213 Construction Safety OSHA 30 Hour
  • CNS 1263 Construction Blueprints and Specifications
  • CNS 1303 Estimating I
You Should Know
  • The certificate includes no internship and no scheduling or management course.
  • OSUIT does not publish a separate program page, start terms, or financial aid eligibility for the certificate.
  • Completion requires a C or better in every course and a 2.5 GPA.

Tuition

OSUIT charges $201.60 per credit for Oklahoma residents and $388.60 for non-residents. Both figures include $40.75 in mandatory university-wide fees. Construction courses add a $32 per-credit program fee, and general education courses add a $7 per-credit academic service fee.

ItemIn-StateOut-of-State
Tuition + mandatory fees per credit$201.60$388.60
A.A.S.: 87 credits$17,539.20$33,808.20
A.A.S.: construction fee (59 CNS/BLD credits × $32)$1,888.00$1,888.00
A.A.S.: academic service fee (25 credits × $7)$175.00$175.00
A.A.S. estimated total$19,602.20$35,871.20
Certificate estimated total (18 credits + $501 fees)$4,129.80$7,495.80

Mandatory fees cover technology ($10), student activity ($6.40), college excellence ($5), and smaller library, union, infrastructure, and records charges. See the official tuition and fees page.

Be aware that:

  • Confirmed per-credit costs: $201.60 in-state, $388.60 out-of-state, plus $32 on every CNS and BLD credit.
  • OSUIT states that all domestic out-of-state students are eligible for a full waiver of out-of-state charges. With it, the A.A.S. costs the same $19,602 as for residents.
  • If the technical elective is a CNS or BLD course, add $96 in construction fees.
  • Online courses add $25 per credit and hybrid courses add $18.75 per credit.
  • The required tool kit is not priced; OSUIT’s fee page excludes tools, uniforms, and textbooks.
  • The page does not state an academic year for its rates.

The A.A.S. costs roughly $9,200 more than OSU-Oklahoma City’s 62-credit construction degree because it carries 25 more credits, 12 of them paid internship credits. Students earn wages during those placements, which offsets part of the gap. For students from Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, or Texas, the domestic waiver brings the price down to the resident rate.


Why Choose This Construction Management Program?

Best suited for students who want paid site experience built into their degree and can study full time, year-round, in Okmulgee.

Paid experience vs. total cost. The two required internships are the program’s strongest feature. A student pays for 12 internship credits but is paid wages during the placements and graduates with two contractor references. Students who already work full time in construction gain less from that structure and still pay for 87 credits.

Out-of-state students. The domestic out-of-state waiver drops a non-resident’s estimate from about $35,900 to $19,600. OSU-OKC’s non-resident rate, by comparison, is about 2.5 times its resident rate. Students from neighboring states should confirm waiver eligibility with OSUIT before comparing price.

Cost verdict. For an Oklahoma resident who wants the lowest price, OSU-Oklahoma City costs about half as much. For a resident or out-of-state student who wants guaranteed paid field experience and a technical, field-engineering base, OSUIT’s extra cost buys something OSU-OKC does not require. Students who plan on a bachelor’s in construction should look at the University of Oklahoma or Oklahoma State first, because OSUIT’s only published transfer map leads to an organizational leadership degree.


Accreditation and Credentials

OSUIT is part of the Oklahoma State University system and is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Institutional accreditation supports federal financial aid eligibility and general education transfer within Oklahoma’s public system.

The construction management option carries no programmatic accreditation. OSUIT does not appear on ACCE’s associate degree list (March 2025 revision), which names 15 accredited associate programs nationwide. That is the norm for two-year construction programs.

The degree’s safety course is titled Construction Safety OSHA 30 Hour, but OSUIT does not state that students receive an OSHA 30 card. OSUIT does not connect the degree to AIC exams or Oklahoma contractor licensing. Its published transfer map moves the A.A.S. into OSU’s Bachelor of Professional Studies in Organizational Leadership, available in Tulsa or online, where the construction courses count as occupational specialization and elective credit.


More Construction Management Programs in Oklahoma