Chesapeake Energy School of Business, Graduate & Professional Studies • Bartlesville, Oklahoma • Online or Campus (evening) • $361.67/Credit (incl. fees)
Oklahoma Wesleyan University offers 1 construction management pathway:
- Associate of Science (A.S.) in Construction Management
Program Pathways Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| A.S. | $10.9K | About 1 year (4 terms) at OKWU, after vo-tech | 30 at OKWU + up to 30 vo-tech |
Tuition estimate uses OKWU’s published program cost table: lower-division tuition plus the per-credit resource fee and fixed fees.
OKWU’s A.S. teaches no construction courses of its own. The construction content comes from an approved technology center (vo-tech) program the student must finish before enrolling, which OKWU credits as a block of up to 30 hours. OKWU then adds 30 credits of business coursework, delivered online or one night a week in five-week courses.
The trade-off is visibility. OKWU names no approved vo-tech programs, publishes no full course list for its 30 credits, and lists three business courses as the “core.” Students who already hold a technology center construction credential get a fast, low-cost degree wrapper. Students who want estimating, scheduling, or contracts taught at the college level will not find them in the published OKWU portion.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Credentials Offered | Associate of Science in Construction Management |
| Format | 100% online or one-night-a-week campus classes; vo-tech portion in person beforehand |
| Credit Hours | 30 OKWU credits; up to 30 vo-tech credits; 60-credit total not stated on program page |
| Entry Requirement | Completion of an approved vo-tech construction program before starting |
| Start Dates | Courses start every five weeks |
| Internship | None stated |
| Programmatic Accreditation | None stated (no ACCE); IACBE coverage of this degree not confirmed |
| Software Taught | Not clearly stated |
| Industry Certifications | Not clearly stated |
| Transfer Pathway | No named construction bachelor’s pathway |
| Tuition | $10,850 published estimate for the OKWU portion |
Associate of Science in Construction Management
The estimated tuition for the A.S. at Oklahoma Wesleyan University is approximately $10,850 (30 credits at $361.67/credit, all-in). The program can generally be completed in about 1 year of OKWU coursework, after the vo-tech program.
Official program page: Associate of Science in Construction Management.
A.S. Curriculum
- Vo-tech block: up to 30 credits for an approved technology center construction program
- OKWU coursework: 30 credits described as Business Administration courses
- Named courses: Organizational Behavior, Business Ethics, Strategic Management
- Construction courses at OKWU: none named
- Math course: not clearly stated
- Course format: one five-week course at a time
The program splits cleanly by institution: trades and field skills at the technology center, management and leadership at OKWU. That makes the A.S. a management-only degree on the OKWU side. OKWU’s page promotes project management, budgeting, and estimator careers, but none of the three named courses covers estimating, scheduling, contracts, or codes. Whatever construction management depth a graduate has depends on the vo-tech program completed first.
You Should Know
- OKWU publishes no full course list for its 30 credits. The A.S. did not appear in the program sections of the 2024–2025 GPS catalog reviewed for this profile.
- The page says students can “tailor” the degree with emphases, but names none. Treat this as unconfirmed.
- Strategic Management is usually an upper-division course. OKWU’s cost table prices all 30 credits at the lower-division rate.
A.S. Internship and Field Experience
- Internship or co-op: none stated
- Field experience: completed at the vo-tech level before enrollment
- Employer partners or placement support: not clearly stated
Hands-on readiness comes from the technology center program, not from OKWU. For a working tradesperson, that is acceptable. For a career changer with no site experience, the OKWU portion adds no structured field exposure.
A.S. Admissions
The A.S. has a hard prerequisite: OKWU says students can start only after completing an approved vo-tech construction program.
- High school diploma or equivalent; official high school transcript if fewer than 24 college credits
- Official transcripts from all prior college work
- Completed approved vo-tech construction program (approval list not published)
- Applicants must be respectful of OKWU’s Christian mission
- Rolling starts every five weeks
You Should Know
- OKWU does not name which technology centers or programs qualify. Tri County Tech in Bartlesville has had an articulation agreement with OKWU for its technical associate degree, per a 2022 local report. Confirm with OKWU whether it covers this A.S.
- OKWU’s catalog caps credit from non-accredited schools at 30 hours toward an associate degree and transcribes it per the articulation agreement.
Tuition
OKWU’s adult (GPS) undergraduate rate is $299 per lower-division credit, plus a $50 per-credit Educational Resource Fee, per the 2025–2026 catalog. Fixed fees add $380 across the program.
| Item | Basis | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 30 credits × $299 | $8,970 |
| Educational Resource Fee | 30 credits × $50 | $1,500 |
| Technology Fee | 4 terms × $65 | $260 |
| Registration Fee | Once per degree | $50 |
| Graduation Fee | Once | $70 |
| Total (OKWU portion) | $10,850 |
Private university: one rate for all students, no in-state discount. OKWU’s cost table is on the program page.
Be aware that:
- The total covers only the 30 OKWU credits. Vo-tech tuition is separate and not stated.
- If any OKWU courses are upper-division ($447/credit), tuition rises. All 30 credits at that rate would total $15,290.
- A $88 student health fee applies unless you opt out within the first 7 days of the term.
- A $100 per-term convenience fee applies if the balance is not paid or on a plan by add/drop.
- The CM cost table is identical to OKWU’s Technical Studies degree table, so it may be a shared template.
- OKWU’s financial aid page shows traditional on-campus costs ($34,290 tuition per year). Those do not apply to this adult program.
- Institutional aid was not available to GPS students in the 2024–2025 catalog; federal aid is.
At about $10,850, the OKWU portion costs roughly what a full 60-credit public associate degree costs in tuition and fees. The value depends on the vo-tech credits: a student who arrives with 30 credited hours pays for half a degree. A student whose technology center program earns fewer credits must fill the gap, and OKWU does not say with what or at what price.
Why Choose This Construction Management Program?
Best suited for Oklahoma tradespeople who already finished a technology center construction program and want an accredited associate degree without returning to a classroom by day.
What it gains. A regionally accredited A.S. in about a year of part-time study, online or one evening a week, with credit for training already completed. Rolling five-week starts mean no waiting for a fall cohort.
What it gives up. No construction coursework at the college level, no internship, no named software or certifications, and no published course list. The faith integration is central: OKWU states every course is grounded in a Christian worldview.
What it does not solve. The A.S. has no named route into a construction bachelor’s degree. Students who want an online construction management degree completion path in Oklahoma should compare the University of Oklahoma, which teaches construction courses directly.
Accreditation and Credentials
OKWU is institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. That supports federal financial aid eligibility and general credit transfer to other regionally accredited schools. OKWU also participates in NC-SARA for online students outside Oklahoma.
OKWU’s program page cites IACBE business accreditation. OKWU’s own catalog notes that not all business-school degrees are IACBE-accredited, and the IACBE list reported to CHEA as of November 2024 names bachelor’s degrees and the MBA, not this A.S. No ACCE accreditation is claimed. That is typical at the associate level and is not a flaw by itself.
OKWU names no embedded industry certifications and makes no contractor-licensing claims for the degree. Any credentials a graduate holds come from the technology center program completed first.