Independent program profiles built from primary sources

University of Hartford Construction Management Programs

College of Engineering, Technology, and Architecture • West Hartford, CT • Campus • $1,635/Credit (incl. fees)

The University of Hartford offers one construction management program: the B.S. in Construction Management + Technology.

Program Pathways Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
B.S.$207.6K4 years (8 semesters)127

Tuition estimates use the University of Hartford’s 2026-27 full-time tuition plus mandatory fees; the same rate applies to every student.

  • Why choose it: Hartford builds its construction degree on an architecture and engineering base, with an architectural design studio, calculus, structural analysis, soils and foundations, and transportation engineering, then adds construction law and negotiations courses.
  • Trade-off: At about $207,600 before aid, the B.S. costs roughly four times CCSU’s in-state price, and it is not yet ABET or ACCE accredited.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Credentials OfferedB.S. in Construction Management + Technology
FormatCampus, full time
Campus LocationWest Hartford, CT
Credit Hours127
InternshipRequired (CMT 328P, 1 credit); hours not stated
Programmatic AccreditationNone yet; Hartford says ABET accreditation “will soon be available”
Software TaughtBuilding information modeling (CMT 210, CMT 412); specific software not named
Industry CertificationsNone embedded
Transfer PathwayCT Transfer Guarantee (2.50 GPA associate degree), capacity permitting
Tuition$25,954 per semester, tuition plus fees (2026-27)
Track ChoiceVertical (ADT 353) or horizontal (CMT 412) in the senior year

B.S. in Construction Management + Technology

The estimated tuition for the B.S. in Construction Management + Technology at the University of Hartford is approximately $207,632 (127 credits at $1,634.90/credit, derived from 8 semesters at $25,954).

The program can generally be completed in about 4 years (8 semesters).

The B.S. in Construction Management + Technology draws on Hartford’s architecture department, its civil engineering department, and the Barney School of Business, and it follows a fixed eight-semester plan.

B.S. Curriculum

The first two years look like an architecture and engineering-technology program: graphics and a design studio, two semesters of precalculus, calculus, two semesters of physics, and strength of materials.

  • Architecture and design (5 courses, 17 credits): ADT 110P Introduction to Architectural Graphics, ADT 123 Architectural Design I, ADT 242 Construction Documents, ADT 241 Environmental Systems for Architectural Design, ADT 112 Introduction to the Built Environment.
  • Engineering and site (9 courses, 32 credits): CMT 110P Construction Management Tools and Introduction to Engineering, CE 250 Introduction to Geomatics, CMT 210 BIM (or ADT 231 Digital Tools), ADT 355 Strength of Materials, CE 260W Civil Engineering Materials Laboratory, CE 352 Transportation Engineering I, CMT 310 Site Design, CMT 314 Structural Analysis Design, CMT 326 Soils and Foundations.
  • Construction management (7 courses, 19 credits): CE 340 Construction Management, CMT 312 Construction Safety, CE 442 Construction Planning and Scheduling, CE 300 Engineering Economics, CMT 428 Construction Law, CMT 410 Senior Project I, CMT 426W Senior Project II.
  • Business (4 courses, 12 credits): AC 210 Financial Accounting, AC 211 Managerial Accounting, MGT 310 Management and Organizational Behavior, MGT 425 Introduction to Negotiations.
  • Track course (3 credits): CMT 412 BIM in Heavy Construction for horizontal construction, or ADT 353 Site Planning and Development for vertical construction.
  • Math and science: MTH 112 and MTH 122 Precalculus I-II for Engineering Technology, MTH 233 Calculus for Architectural Engineering Technology, PHY 120 and PHY 121 Algebra-Based Physics I-II.

The degree is weighted toward design and engineering: 14 architecture, engineering, and site courses against 7 construction management courses and 4 business courses. Students get more structural, soils, and transportation work than most management-focused programs offer, but less dedicated management coursework.

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The plan has no course with estimating in its title; Hartford does not say where estimating is taught.
  • The vertical and horizontal tracks differ by one 3-credit senior course; the other 124 credits are the same.
  • The professional elective in the final semester is 3-4 credits, so the degree can reach 128 credits.
  • Hartford says graduates can become NICET certified and sit for the professional engineering licensure exam, and ties both to its planned ABET accreditation; the program page gives no further detail.

B.S. Internship and Field Experience

  • Required: Yes, CMT 328P Internship in Construction (1 credit).
  • Timing: Spring of the junior year in the published plan.
  • Hours, pay, and placement: Not clearly stated.
  • Employer partners: Not clearly stated.
  • Senior project: CMT 410 and CMT 426W, with final designs presented at the CETA Design Expo to peers, faculty, and industry representatives.

The required internship gives every graduate some field experience, but at 1 credit with no published hours, it is a lighter requirement than a full-semester internship. The two-semester senior project adds a public presentation in front of industry representatives, which can help students who have little site experience.

B.S. Admissions

Hartford admits to the program on a rolling basis, full time only.

  • First-year students: regular University of Hartford undergraduate admission; no separate program gate is stated.
  • Transfer students: the CT Transfer Guarantee admits Connecticut community college associate degree holders with a 2.50 GPA to any bachelor’s program with space, including this one. It does not state how many credits transfer.
  • Named construction transfer agreement: Not clearly stated.

Tuition

Hartford charges a flat full-time rate of $24,232 in tuition plus $1,722 in fees per semester for 12-18 credits in 2026-27, or $25,954 per semester. The same rate applies to Connecticut residents and out-of-state students. Part-time study costs $690 per credit.

Item (2026-27)Per SemesterPer Year
Tuition (12-18 credits)$24,232$48,464
Fees$1,722$3,444
Total$25,954$51,908
  • B.S. estimate: $207,632 for 8 semesters (derived).
  • Average aid: Hartford reports an average aid package of $30,600 and an average out-of-pocket cost of $34,735 per year after aid for U.S. citizens and eligible non-citizens, across all majors.

Be aware that:

  • Hartford does not say what the $1,722 semester fee covers or whether its $110 cultural activities fee is included; adding it would bring the total to about $208,500.
  • Course fees range from $10 to $1,600, and Hartford does not list which apply to architecture, engineering, or construction courses.
  • New first-year students pay a $350 orientation fee as part of the admission deposit.
  • Housing and meals are not included.

The sticker price is high, but Hartford’s own averages put the typical yearly cost after aid at about $34,700, which would be closer to $139,000 over four years. Students should compare their actual aid offer against public options such as CCSU, whose ACCE-accredited B.S. is about $51,900 in-state. See Hartford’s 2026-27 tuition page.


Why Choose This Construction Management Program?

The B.S. fits students who want the engineering and design side of construction, with structures, soils, site design, and transportation, at a private university.

Engineering depth: Calculus, two semesters of physics, strength of materials, structural analysis, and soils and foundations give graduates a technical base that suits field engineering and heavy civil roles, and the horizontal track adds BIM for heavy construction.

Architecture connection: The first-year design studio, construction documents, and environmental systems courses come from Hartford’s architecture program, which helps students who want to work closely with designers on building projects.

Compared with CCSU: CCSU offers two estimating courses, a 3-credit internship, and ACCE accreditation for a much lower in-state price. Hartford makes sense when its aid offer narrows that gap and the engineering and design emphasis matters more than accreditation today.


Accreditation and Credentials

The University of Hartford is a private nonprofit university accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education, which supports federal financial aid eligibility and credit transfer.

The B.S. in Construction Management + Technology does not yet hold programmatic accreditation. Hartford’s program page says ABET accreditation “will soon be available,” and the program does not appear on ACCE’s baccalaureate list (Rev. 2024.03.13). Hartford says graduates can pursue NICET certification and the professional engineering licensure exam once ABET accreditation is in place; students should confirm eligibility with NICET and the Connecticut licensing board, since the program does not embed any certification today.


More Construction Management Programs in Connecticut