Independent program profiles built from primary sources

University of Colorado Denver Construction Management Programs

Department of Civil Engineering and Construction, College of Engineering, Design and Computing • Denver, CO • Campus and Online • $512/Credit (In-State, incl. fees, derived)

The University of Colorado Denver offers 4 construction management pathways:

  • Graduate Certificate in Construction Project Management
  • B.S. in Construction Management
  • B.S. in Construction Engineering and Management
  • Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering, Construction Engineering and Management emphasis

Program Pathways Overview

ProgramEst. TuitionEst. DurationCredit Hours
Grad Certificate$10.4K in-state /
$12.0K out-of-state
1 year (2 semesters)12
B.S. CM$61.4K in-state /
$160.8K out-of-state
4 years (8 semesters)120
B.S. CEM$65.4K in-state /
$171.3K out-of-state
4 years (8 semesters)128
M.Eng.$25.5K in-state /
$29.5K out-of-state
2 years (4 semesters)30

Tuition estimates use CU Denver’s 2026-27 per-credit tuition by college plus mandatory fees; graduate out-of-state figures use the nonresident online rate.

  • Why choose it: CU Denver runs two ABET-accredited construction bachelor’s degrees on one shared CEMT core: a management B.S. (ABET ANSAC) and an engineering B.S. (ABET EAC and ANSAC, per CU Denver) that prepares students for the FE exam, both with a required 12-week, full-time internship.
  • Trade-off: Neither bachelor’s is on ACCE’s list, and CU Denver charges by the credit with no flat-rate band, so the B.S. costs a nonresident about $160,800, close to Colorado State’s ACCE degree.

Quick Facts

FeatureDetails
Credentials OfferedGraduate certificate; B.S. Construction Management; B.S. Construction Engineering and Management; M.Eng. (CEM emphasis)
FormatCampus for both B.S. degrees (in-person and hybrid sections); M.Eng. 100% online or on campus
Campus LocationAuraria Campus, downtown Denver
Credit Hours12 (certificate); 120-122 (B.S. CM); 128 (B.S. CEM); 30 (M.Eng.)
InternshipRequired for both B.S. degrees: 12 weeks (480 hours) full time, CEMT 4939, 1 credit
Programmatic AccreditationABET ANSAC (B.S. CM); ABET EAC and ANSAC (B.S. CEM, per CU Denver)
Software TaughtCAD, BIM; drones and VR/AR in Construction Technology 1
Transfer PathwayNo named construction transfer agreement found
Tuition$467/credit in-state (after COF), $1,295 out-of-state, for engineering and business courses; plus fees

Graduate Certificate in Construction Project Management

The estimated tuition for the Graduate Certificate in Construction Project Management at the University of Colorado Denver is approximately $10,438 in-state or $12,010 out-of-state (12 credits at $756 or $887 per credit, plus fees, derived).

The program can generally be completed in about 1 year (2 semesters), derived from two courses per term.

Certificate Curriculum

  • Required: CEMT 5236 Project Management Systems and CEMT 5237 Advanced Project Management.
  • Electives (two courses): any graduate CEMT course, such as Construction Planning and Control, Cost Estimating, Construction Safety, BIM, Construction Leadership, or CVEN 5087 Engineering Contracts.
  • Stacking: credits can count toward the M.Eng. in Construction Engineering and Management or other eligible graduate programs.

Both required courses sit on CU Denver’s list of regularly offered online CEM courses, so the certificate works as a trial run of the online master’s. More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • Every course needs a B- or better, and individual course prerequisites still apply.
  • CU Denver does not state the certificate’s delivery format directly.

Certificate Internship and Field Experience

The certificate has no internship or field requirement.

Certificate Admissions

  • Requirement: a bachelor’s degree in any field.
  • Status: students may enroll as non-degree students or alongside a CU Denver degree.

B.S. Construction Management

The estimated tuition for the B.S. in Construction Management at the University of Colorado Denver is approximately $61,400 in-state or $160,760 out-of-state (120 credits at $417 to $467 per credit in-state or $1,245 to $1,295 out-of-state, plus fees, derived).

The program can generally be completed in about 4 years (8 semesters), derived from 120 credits at 15 per semester.

B.S. CM Curriculum

The 120-122 credits break into the CU Denver core (24), construction (41), business (15), engineering (11), architecture (6), math and science (9-11), statistics (3), and electives (11).

  • Math and science: Precalculus (MATH 1130), Calculus I (MATH 1401), or College Algebra plus Trigonometry, then College Physics I with lab and a statistics course.
  • Management: CEMT 2100 Construction Management Fundamentals, CEMT 3100 Field Engineering and Management, CEMT 4232 Planning and Control, CEMT 4233 Cost Estimating, CEMT 4236 Project Management Systems, and CEMT 4242 Construction Safety.
  • Business (15 credits): Introduction to Business, Construction Law and Contracts (or Business Law and Ethics), and three Business School courses; a Business Fundamentals or Entrepreneurship minor is recommended.
  • Technical: CEMT 2450 Statics and Solids, CEMT 2300 Heavy Civil Construction and Equipment, CEMT 3231 Materials and Methods, CEMT 4234 Sustainable Construction, surveying, and Civil Engineering Graphics and CAD.
  • Technology: CEMT 4240 BIM and CEMT 4724 Construction Technology 1 (drones, coordination, VR/AR).
  • Architecture: Building Systems I and II.
  • Capstone: CEMT 4067 Construction Senior Capstone.

Counted by course, the degree splits evenly: 12 management, business, and law courses against 12 technical, design, and technology courses. A statics course and a heavy civil equipment course give it more engineering than a pure management degree, while the 15-credit business block and a construction law option lean it toward running projects and companies.

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • Every CEMT course needs a C- or better, and major courses need a 2.0 GPA.
  • The program page lists different credit groups (34 construction, 12 architecture) than the catalog (41 and 6); the catalog moves statics and construction technology into the construction block.
  • Up to four 5000-level CEMT or CVEN courses can count toward a CU Denver civil engineering master’s.

B.S. CM Internship and Field Experience

  • Requirement: CEMT 4939, at least 12 weeks (480 hours) full time with an architecture, engineering, or construction firm or a government agency, for 1 credit.
  • Timing: within the last 4 semesters, usually the summer between junior and senior year.
  • Paid status: internships are “generally paid,” per CU Denver.
  • Support: Career Center postings through Handshake, career fairs, and an industry advisory board; CU Denver names GE Johnson’s internship program as an example.
  • Outcomes: not published for this degree; CU Denver cites entry-level salaries around $78,000 for college graduates in construction and design.

The 480-hour requirement is a full summer of paid work, but it carries only 1 credit and is student-arranged with career-center help rather than placed by the department. Students who want a structured placement office should compare Colorado State’s Phelps Placement Office.

B.S. CM Admissions

CU Denver states no separate application to the major.

  • Entry: through CU Denver and College of Engineering, Design and Computing admission.
  • Math placement: students below Precalculus or College Algebra will need extra math before the physics and statistics sequence.
  • Transfer: no named community college construction agreement was found.

B.S. Construction Engineering and Management

The estimated tuition for the B.S. in Construction Engineering and Management at the University of Colorado Denver is approximately $65,362 in-state or $171,346 out-of-state (128 credits at $417 to $467 per credit in-state or $1,245 to $1,295 out-of-state, plus fees, derived).

The program can generally be completed in about 4 years (8 semesters), derived from 128 credits at 16 per semester.

B.S. CEM Curriculum

The CEM degree keeps the CM degree’s construction core and swaps most of the business block for engineering math and a 15-credit engineering track.

  • Math and science (30 credits): Calculus I and II, chemistry with lab (or ENGR 1130), calculus-based Physics I with lab, statistics, and 9 more credits of math or science.
  • Construction core (35 credits): the same CEMT courses as the CM degree, including estimating, planning and control, safety, BIM, sustainable construction, and the senior capstone, plus the internship.
  • Engineering track (15 credits): civil, computer science, electrical, or mechanical engineering per the program page; the catalog lists seven focuses (adding cybersecurity, structural, transportation, and water systems).
  • Architecture and business: Building Systems I and II and one business course.
  • FE exam: CU Denver says the degree supports the construction knowledge area of the Fundamentals of Engineering exam.

This is the engineering route. A student gives up 12 of the CM degree’s business credits for calculus, calculus-based physics, and an engineering specialty, which points toward field engineering, design-build, and a possible PE license rather than estimating or company management.

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • The program page says 128 credits; the catalog says 127-133, and its listed groups add to more than that.
  • CU Denver’s program page says the CEM degree earned ABET EAC and ANSAC accreditation as of summer 2024, but its accreditation page also says it is “pursuing dual accreditation.”
  • The program page names four engineering tracks; the catalog names seven.

B.S. CEM Internship and Field Experience

The internship requirement matches the CM degree: CEMT 4939, 12 weeks full time, within the last 4 semesters. The CEM program page states that all internships are paid; the CM page says “generally paid.”

B.S. CEM Admissions

The calculus sequence sets the pace, so students who place below Calculus I start behind.

  • Entry: through CU Denver and College of Engineering, Design and Computing admission.
  • Track choice: some engineering tracks have their own math and science prerequisites; CU Denver tells students to consult an adviser.

M.Eng. Civil Engineering, Construction Engineering and Management

The estimated tuition for the M.Eng. with a Construction Engineering and Management emphasis at the University of Colorado Denver is approximately $25,537 in-state or $29,467 out-of-state (30 credits at $756 or $887 per credit, plus fees, derived).

The program can generally be completed in about 2 years (4 semesters), per CU Denver’s “as few as 24 months” for the online M.Eng.

M.Eng. Curriculum

  • Core (9 credits): CEMT 5231 Materials and Methods, CEMT 5232 Planning and Control, and CEMT 5233 Cost Estimating.
  • Construction electives (12 credits): options include project management, leadership, BIM, safety, dispute resolution, temporary structures, sustainable construction, surveying, and Construction Technology 2 (robotics, AI, data analytics).
  • Graduate electives (9 credits): from one area: Business School, Architecture and Planning, Public Affairs, or an engineering or liberal arts prefix.
  • Final project: the CEM emphasis lists no master’s report or comprehensive exam.

The M.Eng. is built for students whose bachelor’s is not in engineering; engineering graduates take CU Denver’s M.S. in Civil Engineering instead. The 9 outside credits let a student pair construction courses with graduate business, planning, or public affairs courses.

More curriculum details are available here.

You Should Know
  • Engineering prerequisite courses are required on top of the 30 credits (C- or better); applicants missing 5 or more are not admitted, and up to 9 graduate credits may be taken before they are finished.
  • A B- is required in major courses with a 3.0 major GPA, and the degree must be finished within seven years.

M.Eng. Internship and Field Experience

The M.Eng. has no internship requirement.

M.Eng. Admissions

The prerequisite list, not the bachelor’s major, decides how long a non-engineer spends before the 30 credits.

  • Format: 100% online and asynchronous, full time or part time; also offered on campus.
  • Start terms: fall and spring.
  • Transfer credit: up to 9 hours, plus credits from the Construction Project Management certificate.

Tuition

For 2026-27, CU Denver charges undergraduates $583 per credit for engineering and business courses ($467 after the College Opportunity Fund stipend) and $533 ($417) for other courses; nonresidents pay $1,295 and $1,245. Mandatory fees are about $695.83 per semester at 15 credits, plus a $44.30-per-credit Engineering Instructional Fee on engineering courses. Graduate engineering tuition is $756 per credit for residents and WRGP students, $887 for nonresidents online, and $1,660 for nonresidents on campus. See CU Denver’s undergraduate tuition page.

ChargeColorado ResidentNonresident
B.S. CM tuition (67 credits engineering/business tier, 53 standard)$53,390$152,750
B.S. CM fees (8 semesters, 52 engineering credits, new student fee)$8,010$8,010
B.S. CM total (derived)$61,400$160,760
B.S. CEM total (68 / 60 credits, 65 engineering credits, derived)$65,362$171,346
M.Eng. total (30 credits, 4 semesters of fees, derived)$25,537$29,467 online
Graduate certificate (12 credits, 2 semesters, derived)$10,438$12,010 online

Be aware that:

  • Resident figures assume the College Opportunity Fund stipend ($116 per credit) is authorized.
  • Tuition is charged per credit by each course’s college, so the estimates depend on how many credits come from engineering and business versus other colleges.
  • WUE students pay $850 per credit for engineering and business courses, about two-thirds of the nonresident rate.
  • A nonresident taking the M.Eng. on campus pays $1,660 per credit ($49,800 in tuition for 30 credits) instead of the $887 online rate.
  • Graduate fee estimates assume the student services, mental health, and CEDC major fees apply each term; fully online students can opt out of the Auraria Campus and Wellness Center fees.
  • Engineering prerequisite courses for M.Eng. students are not included.

For Colorado residents, both bachelor’s degrees cost in the low-to-mid $60,000s. The best value at CU Denver is the online M.Eng.: a nonresident pays about $29,500, about $23,000 less in tuition than a nonresident pays for the same degree on campus.


Why Choose This Construction Management Program?

Best suited for Denver-area students who want an ABET-accredited construction degree in the city and can choose between a management track and an engineering track.

Versus Colorado State. Colorado State’s B.S. carries ACCE accreditation, a placement office, and a full-semester internship in Fort Collins. CU Denver offers ABET instead, a downtown Denver campus, a 480-hour summer internship, and a statics course that Colorado State’s B.S. does not require.

Engineering or management. Students who might want a PE license or design-side work should look at the CEM degree and its calculus and engineering track. Students headed for estimating, project management, or a contractor’s business office fit the CM degree and its 15 business credits.

Career changers with a degree. The online M.Eng. accepts non-engineering bachelor’s holders, starts in fall or spring, and can begin with the 12-credit certificate, at a nonresident online rate well below the campus rate.


Accreditation and Credentials

The University of Colorado Denver is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, which supports credit transfer and federal financial aid eligibility.

The B.S. in Construction Management is accredited by ABET’s Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission, as of summer 2024, per CU Denver; graduates from before that date are also covered. CU Denver states that the B.S. in Construction Engineering and Management holds both EAC and ANSAC accreditation, while its accreditation page also says it is pursuing them; the ABET directory was not checked directly. Neither degree appears on ACCE’s baccalaureate list (Rev. 2024.03.13), which lists only Colorado State in Colorado.

The CEM degree supports the construction area of the FE exam, the first step toward a PE license. CU Denver does not state that either degree counts toward a Colorado contractor license.


More Construction Management Programs in Colorado