Community College of Aurora • Aurora, CO • Campus • $210/Credit (In-State, incl. fees, derived)
The Community College of Aurora offers one construction management program, the A.A.S. in Construction Management.
Program Pathways Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| A.A.S. | $12.6K in-state / $46.8K out-of-state | 2 years (4 semesters) | 60 |
Tuition estimates use CCA’s 2026-27 on-campus per-credit tuition after the College Opportunity Fund stipend plus mandatory fees.
- Why choose it: CCA builds a 30-hour construction industry standards course (OSH 1311, the OSHA 30 content area) into the A.A.S. as a required 3-credit course, alongside a two-course estimating sequence, soil mechanics, and surveying.
- Trade-off: The math requirement is Career Mathematics, the only business coursework is an introduction and a communication course, and CCA names no transfer agreement into a bachelor’s program.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Credentials Offered | A.A.S. Construction Management |
| Format | Campus (delivery not clearly stated) |
| Credit Hours | 60 |
| Internship | Internship or capstone required (3 credits) |
| Programmatic Accreditation | None stated |
| Industry Certifications | OSH 1311 30-Hour Construction Industry Standards (required; card issuance not stated) |
| Transfer Pathway | No named agreement |
| Math | MAT 1140 Career Mathematics |
| Tuition | $183.75/credit in-state after COF, $754.25 out-of-state, $275.60 WUE, plus about $22/credit fees |
A.A.S. Construction Management
The estimated tuition for the A.A.S. in Construction Management at the Community College of Aurora is approximately $12,598 in-state or $46,828 out-of-state (60 credits at $183.75 or $754.25 per credit, plus fees, derived).
The program can generally be completed in about 2 years (4 semesters), derived from 60 credits at 15 per semester.
A.A.S. Curriculum
The 60 credits split into 15 general education credits and 45 program credits, all 3-credit courses.
- Math and computing: MAT 1140 Career Mathematics and CIS 1018 Introduction to PC Applications.
- Estimating and controls: AEC 2610 Estimating I, AEC 2611 Estimating II: Cost Analysis, AEC 2630 Scheduling, and AEC 2650 Construction Project Management.
- Safety and law: OSH 1311 30-Hour Construction Industry Standards and AEC 2640 Contracts and Legal Environment.
- Site and building technology: Print Reading, Construction Materials and Systems, Soil Mechanics, Surveying, Building Electrical/Mechanical Systems, and International Building Codes.
- Supervision and business: MAN 1016 Principles of Supervision, BUS 1015 Introduction to Business, and BUS 2017 Business Communication and Report Writing.
- Field experience: AEC 2080 Internship or AEC 2089 Capstone.
The degree is supervision-focused, with 9 management, safety, and business courses against 6 site and building technology courses. Soil mechanics and surveying give it some field depth, but there is no statics or structures course and no CAD or BIM requirement. CCA’s program description also lists labor relations, insurance and bonding, and accident investigation; those topics are not separate courses.
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- Career Mathematics is a workforce math course; students who later want a bachelor’s will likely need College Algebra or higher.
- The catalog does not say whether AEC courses are offered in person, online, or in the evening.
A.A.S. Internship and Field Experience
- Requirement: 3 credits of AEC 2080 Internship or AEC 2089 Capstone.
- Hours, pay, placement, employers: not clearly stated.
- Related training: CCA absorbed the BuildStrong Academy of Colorado in 2026, a construction workforce program at its CentreTech Campus that connects students with employers through career fairs, per ColoradoBiz; its link to the A.A.S. is not stated.
Because the capstone can replace the internship, a student can finish without a job-site placement. Students without construction experience should choose the internship.
A.A.S. Admissions
Admission is open through the Community College of Aurora, with no separate program application.
- Math placement: Career Mathematics is the only required math.
- Transfer: no named agreement with a Colorado bachelor’s program was found.
Tuition
For 2026-27, CCA charges Colorado residents $183.75 per credit on campus after the College Opportunity Fund stipend ($299.75 before it), nonresidents $754.25, and WUE students $275.60. Mandatory fees add about $22.27 per credit and $59.17 per term. Colorado Online courses cost $301.85 per credit for residents and $460.30 for nonresidents. See CCA’s tuition and fees page.
| Charge | Colorado Resident | Nonresident | WUE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, 60 credits | $11,025 | $45,255 | $16,536 |
| Mandatory fees, 4 terms | $1,573 | $1,573 | $1,573 |
| A.A.S. total (derived) | $12,598 | $46,828 | $18,109 |
Be aware that:
- The resident figure assumes the College Opportunity Fund stipend is authorized.
- CCA’s 2026-27 course-specific fee list shows no fees for AEC or OSH courses.
- Any course taken through Colorado Online is billed at the higher online rate.
CCA and Arapahoe charge the same per-credit tuition, so their A.A.S. degrees cost about the same ($12,598 vs $13,070). The choice between them is about content: CCA requires the 30-hour safety course and a second estimating course, while Arapahoe adds small business management, accounting, and structural analysis.
Why Choose This Construction Management Program?
Best suited for Aurora and east metro Denver students who want a two-year path into site supervision with safety training built in.
Future superintendents and safety-minded supervisors. The 30-hour safety course, supervision, scheduling, and project management point graduates toward field supervision roles.
Estimators. Two estimating courses, from takeoff to cost analysis, plus codes and contracts, give a solid start for an estimating assistant role.
Not for students set on a bachelor’s. With Career Mathematics and no transfer agreement, students planning a four-year degree should compare MSU Denver, which credits workforce training, or Aims, which offers College Algebra and physics.
Accreditation and Credentials
The Community College of Aurora is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, which supports credit transfer and federal financial aid eligibility.
The A.A.S. lists no programmatic accreditation, and ACCE’s 2024 report lists no Colorado associate programs.
OSH 1311 covers the 30-hour construction industry standards; CCA’s catalog does not say whether students receive an OSHA 30 card on completion. CCA does not state that the degree counts toward a Colorado contractor license.