Technology Division • Vincennes, IN • Campus / Hybrid / Online • $3,563/Semester (In-State and Neighbor States, 15 Credits, incl. fees)
Vincennes University offers 2 construction management pathways:
- Construction Technology A.S. (campus)
- B.S. in Technology, Construction Management Concentration (completion degree, hybrid or online)
Program Pathways Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| A.S. | $14.3K in-state / $33.7K out-of-state | 2 years (4 semesters) | 60 |
| B.S. (completion) | $18.0K in-state / $22.4K out-of-state | 2 years (4 semesters) after an A.S. | 120 (about 60 at the B.S. stage) |
Tuition estimates use Vincennes’s campus flat rate for 15 credits and its 2026-27 distance education upper-division rate per credit, both including technology and capital improvement fees.
- Why choose it: An A.S. plus the B.S. completion runs about $32,300 in-state, and residents of Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, and Ohio pay the same rate as Indiana students on campus and online.
- Trade-off: Most construction content sits in the trades-focused A.S.; the B.S. stage adds one construction course, Principles of Construction Management, and fills the rest with business and general technology courses.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Credentials Offered | Construction Technology A.S.; B.S. in Technology, Construction Management Concentration |
| Format | A.S.: Campus; B.S.: Hybrid (Vincennes campus) or Online |
| Credit Hours | A.S. 60; B.S. 120 (30-36 major credits carried from the A.S.) |
| Internship | Optional in both (A.S. internship or business electives; B.S. internship or Industrial Supervision) |
| Programmatic Accreditation | None listed |
| Code Training | A.S. course on the Indiana Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings |
| B.S. Admission | Qualifying A.S. plus approval of the department chair and dean |
| Tuition | $3,563 per 15-credit semester (campus); $300.62/credit upper-division online (in-state and neighbor states) |
Construction Technology A.S.
The estimated tuition for the Construction Technology A.S. at Vincennes University is approximately $14,252 in-state or $33,716 out-of-state (4 semesters at $3,563 or $8,429, derived).
The program can generally be completed in about 2 years (4 semesters), per the catalog’s recommended sequence.
The A.S. is a residential and light-commercial building program taught on the Vincennes campus, with labs in framing, finish carpentry, electrical wiring, and concrete and masonry.
A.S. Curriculum
The 60 credits split into 36 major credits and 24 university core credits.
- Trades labs: Framing with lab, Finish Carpentry with lab, Electrical Wiring with lab, and Concrete and Masonry with lab (or Introduction to Architectural CAD instead).
- Documents and code: Construction Print Reading and The Indiana Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings.
- Management: Construction Safety, Construction Estimating, Labor Rating and Pricing with lab, and Portfolio Development.
- Choice block (6 credits): Construction Internship (1-6 credits) and/or 200-level accounting, entrepreneurship, or management electives.
- Math: any 100-level or higher math elective.
- Core: English Composition, Speech, a lab science, a social science, and 8 elective credits.
The A.S. is mostly hands-on building work, with estimating and code study as its management side. A course on the Indiana Residential Code is a practical asset for anyone heading into home building or inspection. The math requirement is open, so students planning a different bachelor’s should choose College Algebra or higher.
More curriculum details are available in the Vincennes catalog.
You Should Know
- Students choose between Architectural CAD and Concrete and Masonry; only one is required.
- The internship is optional; students can meet the 6-credit block with business courses alone.
A.S. Internship and Field Experience
- Requirement: none required; CNST 220 Construction Internship (1-6 credits) is one option in a 6-credit block.
- Labs: four trade courses each pair a lecture with a hands-on lab.
- Portfolio: a 2-credit Portfolio Development course in the final semester.
The lab sequence gives students real building skills even without an internship. A student who takes the full 6-credit internship gets job-site experience; one who takes business electives instead graduates with a stronger management foundation but no field placement.
A.S. Admissions
- Admission: through regular Vincennes admission; no separate program application stated.
- Campus: Vincennes campus only.
B.S. in Technology, Construction Management Concentration
The estimated tuition for the B.S. in Technology, Construction Management Concentration at Vincennes University is approximately $18,037 in-state or $22,426 out-of-state for the B.S. stage (60 credits at the $300.62 or $373.76 online upper-division rate, derived).
The program can generally be completed in about 2 years (4 semesters) after an associate degree, per Vincennes (“2+2”).
This is a completion degree: students enter with a qualifying A.S. and apply 30 to 36 of its major credits toward the 120-credit B.S.
B.S. Curriculum
The B.S. stage adds 13 required courses (39 credits), 5 to 11 directed elective credits, and remaining university core courses.
- Construction: CNST 300 Principles of Construction Management.
- Business: Financial Accounting, Managerial Accounting, Legal Environment of Business, Principles of Management, Organizational Behavior, and The Computer in Business or Management Projects.
- Technology and operations: Technology Project Applications I, Workplace Safety, Facilities Planning, Current Issues in Technology, and Problem Solving.
- Field or supervision: Technology Project Applications II (Internship) or Industrial Supervision.
- Core and capstone: College Algebra or Quantitative Reasoning, Contemporary Ethical Issues, Cultural Competence in the Workplace, and the Technology Capstone Certification.
The B.S. is a general technology management degree with a construction label. Only one required course is construction-specific, and the program description talks about manufacturing processes and industrial applications as well as project control. The construction depth comes from the A.S. a student brings in, so the combined degree is strongest for someone with the Construction Technology A.S. or an apprenticeship.
More curriculum details are available in the Vincennes catalog.
You Should Know
- The catalog’s semester sequence for the B.S. stage adds to 62 credits against a 120-credit total; confirm with an advisor.
- Several required courses are 200-level (accounting, business law, The Computer in Business) and bill at the lower-division rate, so the actual B.S.-stage cost may be a little below this estimate.
B.S. Internship and Field Experience
- Requirement: none required; TECH 360 Technology Project Applications II (Internship) or TECH 375 Industrial Supervision.
- Applied projects: Technology Project Applications I and the Technology Capstone.
Working adults can choose Industrial Supervision and skip the internship, which fits online students already employed in construction. Students without field experience should take the internship option.
B.S. Admissions
Admission is limited to associate degree holders and needs dean-level approval.
- Qualifying A.S. degrees: Construction Technology, Architectural Studies Technology/CAD, Surveying Technology, or General Studies, Technology Apprenticeship Concentration.
- Other degrees: considered by special exception.
- Approval: the Technology Baccalaureate Degree Department Chair and the Dean of Technology.
- Format: Vincennes campus (hybrid) or online.
Tuition
Campus students pay a flat $3,563 per semester for 15 credits of 100- and 200-level courses, including technology, capital improvement, and activity fees; out-of-state students pay $8,429. Residents of Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, and Ohio pay the Indiana rate. Online upper-division courses cost $300.62 per credit (in-state and neighbor states) or $373.76 (other states). See the cost of attendance and distance education rates.
| Charge | Indiana and Neighbor States | Other Out-of-State |
|---|---|---|
| Campus, per 15-credit semester | $3,563 | $8,429 |
| Online, lower division, per credit | $260.24 | $322.88 |
| Online, upper division, per credit | $300.62 | $373.76 |
| A.S. total (4 campus semesters, derived) | $14,252 | $33,716 |
| B.S. stage (60 upper-division credits online, derived) | $18,037 | $22,426 |
| A.S. plus B.S. (derived) | $32,289 | $56,142 |
Be aware that:
- Vincennes froze tuition for 2025-26 and 2026-27; the campus rate page does not state its year.
- On-campus students also pay a $30 parking pass and a $44 medical care plan each semester (commuters can opt out of the medical plan).
- Some courses carry division fees of about $15 to $80, lab kits, software, or first-day book fees.
- The campus upper-division rate for B.S. students attending in person is not shown; the estimate uses the online rate.
- Active-duty military pay $250 per credit online.
The full A.S.-plus-B.S. route costs about $32,300 in-state, about $5,800 less than Purdue Fort Wayne’s B.S. ($38,129). For an Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, or Ohio student, the price is the same as for Indiana residents.
Why Choose This Construction Management Program?
Best suited for tradespeople, apprentices, and hands-on students in southern Indiana and nearby states who want to start with building skills and add a bachelor’s later, often online.
Choosing the A.S. Pick the A.S. for framing, finish carpentry, electrical, masonry, residential code, and estimating, with the option of a 6-credit internship. It prepares students for residential and light-commercial contracting jobs on its own.
Choosing the B.S. Add the B.S. when a supervisory or office role needs a bachelor’s. It is mostly business and technology management, online, and low cost, but it carries no programmatic accreditation and only one construction course. Students who want an ACCE-accredited construction curriculum should compare Indiana State’s online B.S.
Accreditation and Credentials
Vincennes University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, which supports credit transfer and federal financial aid eligibility.
Neither program names a programmatic accreditation. Vincennes does not appear on ACCE’s baccalaureate list (Rev. 2024.03.13).
The A.S. includes a course on the Indiana Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings. Vincennes does not state that either degree counts toward a contractor license or inspector certification.