Colangelo College of Business • Phoenix, AZ • Online and Campus • $498.75/Credit (Online, incl. fees)
Grand Canyon University offers one construction management program, the Bachelor of Science in Construction Management, delivered online in 8-week courses or on the Phoenix campus.
Program Pathways Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| B.S. (Online) | $60.4K (all students) | About 4.6 years (30 courses) | 120 |
| B.S. (Campus) | $71.8K (all students) | 4 years (8 semesters) | 120 |
Tuition estimates use Grand Canyon University’s 2026-27 online per-credit rate or campus block rate plus mandatory fees.
- Why choose it: GCU charges every U.S. student the same $490 per online credit, so a nonresident pays about $60,400 for the full B.S., versus $87,910 for ASU’s online degree at its out-of-state rate.
- Trade-off: The construction content is 7 courses (28 of 120 credits) inside a business degree, with no estimating, scheduling, materials, or structures course and no ACCE accreditation.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Credentials Offered | B.S. in Construction Management |
| Format | Online (8-week courses) or Campus (15-week semesters) |
| Campus Location | Phoenix (campus format only) |
| Credit Hours | 120 (64-credit major: 7 construction, 9 business courses) |
| Internship | Required 300 hours of industry experience; credit and placement support not stated |
| Programmatic Accreditation | None stated; institutional accreditation by HLC |
| Software Taught | Not clearly stated for this program |
| Industry Certifications | None embedded; OSHA content covered in CTM-320 |
| Transfer Pathway | Up to 90 transfer credits (84 lower division); no named articulation agreement |
| Tuition | $490/credit online; $8,250/semester campus; same rate for every state |
| Math | Intermediate algebra or higher; ACC-240 requires MAT-134 or higher |
Bachelor of Science in Construction Management
The estimated tuition for the online B.S. at Grand Canyon University is approximately $60,400 (120 credits at $490/credit, plus technology and onboarding fees); the campus B.S. is approximately $71,760 (8 semesters at $8,250 plus $720 in fees per semester).
The program can generally be completed in about 4 years on campus or about 4.6 years online (derived: about 30 four-credit courses at 8 weeks each, taken one at a time).
Students take the same 16 core courses in either format through the Colangelo College of Business. Campus courses run 15 weeks; online courses run 8 weeks.
B.S. Curriculum
The 120 credits split into 34-40 general education credits, a 64-credit major, and 16-22 open elective credits. The major has 16 four-credit courses.
- Construction core (7 courses, 28 credits): Introduction to Construction (CTM-300), Project Planning and Pre-Construction (CTM-310), Environmental Health and Well Being Management (CTM-320), Technical Communication and Data Management (CTM-330), Construction Design, Document and Contract Management (CTM-340), Construction Manager as Leader (CTM-410), Onsite Project Management capstone (CTM-460).
- Business core (9 courses, 36 credits): Introduction to Computer Technology (BIT-200), Fundamentals of Accounting (ACC-240), Business Statistics (BUS-352), Ethical and Legal Issues in Business (BUS-340), Introduction to Marketing (MKT-315), Essentials of Economics (ECN-351), Organizational Behavior and Management (MGT-420), Fundamentals of Business Finance (FIN-350), Strategic Management capstone (BUS-485).
- Safety: CTM-320 covers OSHA compliance, hazard identification, and risk management. No OSHA 10 or 30 card is stated.
- Contracts and law: CTM-340 covers construction documents and contractual obligations. BUS-340 is a general business law course, not construction law.
- Math: General education requires intermediate algebra or higher. ACC-240 and BUS-352 require MAT-134, MAT-144, MAT-154, or a higher math course. No trigonometry, calculus, or physics is required.
- General education: Includes 4 credits of Christian Worldview (CWV-101 or CWV-301) for all students.
The major leans business over construction, 9 courses to 7. Four of the program’s five published learning domains are business domains; one covers construction management. The construction courses cover planning, safety, documents, leadership, and site management. None covers estimating, scheduling, materials and methods, surveying, structures, or MEP systems, which are standard technical content in ACCE programs such as ASU and NAU.
More curriculum details are available here.
You Should Know
- GCU’s program page promotes “construction planning and estimating” and lists scheduling and cost estimation as skills, but no core course is titled or described as estimating or scheduling.
- The FAQ names Procore and Microsoft Project as tools CM programs “often” use. GCU does not say which software its own courses teach.
- All 7 construction courses are 300- or 400-level and depend on a prerequisite chain starting at CTM-300.
B.S. Internship and Field Experience
- Requirement: 300 hours of industry experience and participation in construction or development initiatives.
- Course and credit: Not clearly stated. No core course is listed as an internship.
- Paid status: Not clearly stated.
- Placement support: Not clearly stated. No employer partners are named.
- Online students: GCU’s online disclaimer excludes internships and field experience, so online students complete the hours in person, locally.
The 300-hour requirement sits between NAU’s elective 192-hour internship and ASU’s required 640 hours. It gives career changers a jobsite reference before graduation. Without a named course, employer list, or placement process, students should expect to find and arrange their own site.
B.S. Admissions
Admission is university-wide, with no separate program application or construction prerequisite.
- First-year: high school graduate, age 16+, 2.8 unweighted GPA, or 2.5 GPA with ACT 19 or SAT 1000.
- Transfer: 2.25 GPA and 25 or more transferable credits from an accredited, GCU-approved school.
- Transfer credit cap: up to 90 credits, no more than 84 lower division. GCU estimates transfer credit through its Lopes Unofficial Credit Evaluation.
- Application fee: none. SAT or ACT not required if the GPA requirement is met.
- Campus enrollment: campus students must take at least 9 credits in the campus format each fall and spring.
You Should Know
- GCU names no transfer agreement for this program, including with Maricopa Community Colleges. Maricopa’s Specialization II maps to ASU, not GCU.
- Because 14 of the 16 major courses are upper division, a community college transfer will likely still need those 56 credits at GCU, even with 84 lower-division credits accepted (derived).
Tuition
Online tuition is $490 per credit for 2026-27, plus a $35 technology fee per course and a one-time $550 learning management fee for new online students. Campus tuition is a flat $8,250 per semester for 12-18 credits, plus $720 in mandatory fees per semester. GCU charges the same rate to residents and nonresidents.
| Item | Online | Campus |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | $490 × 120 credits = $58,800 | $8,250 × 8 semesters = $66,000 |
| Technology fee | $35 × 30 courses = $1,050 (derived count) | $115 × 8 = $920 |
| Student activity fee | None listed | $375 × 8 = $3,000 |
| Facility fee | None listed | $100 × 8 = $800 |
| Health and wellness fee | None listed | $130 × 8 = $1,040 |
| Learning management fee | $550 one time | None listed |
| Estimated total | $60,400 | $71,760 |
| Effective per credit | $503.33 | $598.00 |
Confirmed costs: tuition rates from GCU’s online and evening tuition page and on-campus tuition page; fees from GCU’s other fees page, all for 2026-27.
Be aware that:
- Canyon Connect, GCU’s course materials charge, adds $130 per undergraduate course in both formats. At about 30 courses that is roughly $3,900, raising totals to about $64,300 online and $75,660 on campus.
- Campus totals assume 15 credits per semester for 8 semesters. Summer campus credits cost $310 each, which can lower the total for students who use summer terms.
- Campus students may also owe parking ($450 per year) and health insurance ($2,922 per year). GCU does not state on the fee page whether insurance can be waived.
- The $1,000-per-semester program premium applies to computer science, AI, cybersecurity, IT, and engineering programs, not this business-college degree.
- The online technology fee total depends on course count, which varies with general education choices.
- Active-duty military, reserve, Guard, and military spouses pay an effective $250 per online credit after a GCU scholarship.
For an Arizona resident, GCU online ($60,400) lands near NAU in-state ($57,508) and below ASU online in-state ($68,182). For a nonresident, the flat rate is the advantage: GCU online costs about $27,500 less than ASU online out-of-state. A transfer student who needs only the 14 upper-division major courses would pay about $28,480 online (derived: 56 credits plus fees), before course materials.
Why Choose This Construction Management Program?
Best suited for working adults outside Arizona who want a management-focused bachelor’s at one national online rate and already have, or can arrange, jobsite access.
Transferring with an associate degree: GCU accepts up to 90 transfer credits, but it publishes no map from Maricopa or any other college into this major. A Maricopa Specialization II graduate has a published route into ASU’s ACCE-accredited B.S.; a GCU transfer depends on a Lopes evaluation. Students with a general A.A.S. or scattered credits may find GCU’s broad transfer cap easier, since only the 14 upper-division courses are fixed.
What the degree covers and skips: The business core (accounting, finance, statistics, marketing, strategy) suits someone heading toward an owner’s, developer’s, or business-side role. Students aiming for estimator or field engineer jobs will find no estimating, scheduling, or structures coursework here, and ASU or NAU cover that content.
The bottom line on transfer: A Maricopa student bound for a technical CM career should take the ASU route. A working adult with prior credit, a nonresident address, or a business-side goal gets a cheaper, more flexible finish at GCU.
Accreditation and Credentials
Grand Canyon University has been institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission since 1968. HLC accreditation supports federal financial aid eligibility and credit transfer. The U.S. Department of Education recognized GCU as a nonprofit institution in December 2025.
The B.S. in Construction Management carries no programmatic accreditation. It does not appear on ACCE’s baccalaureate list (Rev. 2024.03.13), whose Arizona entries are Arizona State University and Northern Arizona University. GCU’s licensure disclosure states the program is not designed to meet educational requirements for licensure or certification in any of the 59 states and territories it lists.
No industry certification is embedded in the curriculum. CTM-320 covers OSHA regulations, but GCU does not state that students earn an OSHA card or prepare for the AIC Associate Constructor exam.